Revival

It’s been some 550 days since I last blogged about Athens, partly because life got in the way, but also because the issues that underlie the Greek debt crisis, and which I addressed in the original blog posts, have changed little since then. Still, there have been two changes, which prompt me to revive this blog: more people now recognize that economic austerity is a failed economic policy; and more importantly, conditions in Greece now look grim. The country, which seems to be headed for an economic collapse, needs a revival — a new direction, not only economically, but socially and culturally too. Like FACING ATHENS, my book,  this blog is a way to have a say in the fate of the country that I left a long time ago, but which I always carry with me.

As a way to mark the blog’s new beginning, I’ve revamped its look. In the days and weeks ahead, I will be adding new content, including more books to the Required Reading section. If you happen upon this post, spread the word about it and add your comments below.

Leave a Reply

